This Campaign Will Self-Destruct in 3 Days

For my first post, I’m not going to do the typical, “well here I am,” kind of thing. I’m not even starting with a message of supreme happiness. I’m just going to be real.

Almost 30 days ago, I started a Kickstarter campaign for my feature film DONOVAN. It was ambitious for the level of reach I have right now at $80,000 to fund the entire film. If you know anything about film financing and budgets, that’s actually dirt cheap by film standards, but “oh my god, you want how much???” by any individual that I know of. Right now, I’m just over $2,500, and I’m incredibly thankful to the people that took the time to pledge that much to my project. Unfortunately, it’s barely a fraction of what my goal was.

My ego might be bruised if it wasn’t so laughable.

My ego might also be bruised if I were one to quit so easily. Fortunately, I’m not deterred by this colossal failure. Instead, once it’s completely dead, I’m moving the fundraising efforts to the Brilliant Mania Films website and running the donations through Paypal. I’ve also put together a business proposal for interested investors. I think “having a back-up plan” also helps in keeping the ego out of the way of a baseball bat.

I did learn a few things though through this first go-round with Kickstarter. For the next fundraising effort, I need to keep in mind:

  1. Make the window of opportunity longer than 30 days.
  2. Don’t try to fund the entire movie through fundraising. There are a lot of success stories on Kickstarter with some high-dollar fundage. They know something I don’t know.
  3. Mention there will be a naked chick in the film at some point. Mention this early. Preferably within the first paragraph. Hell, title the entire campaign, “There will be a naked chick.”

That about does it. Now I need to go prep for an interview with a local newspaper. I should probably brush up on etiquette and political correctness. But first, whiskey.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This Campaign Will Self-Destruct in 3 Days

  1. Jeremy Dawson says:

    Way to stay positive…I think. You’re going to make it happen. Stick to it like flies…you know.

Leave a Reply

